Copa America Past Winners List Year By Year CapTable

Posted on January 26, 2019, 9:08 pm
5 mins

Copa America is one of the most prestigious football competition in the World which is also regarded as the 3rd biggest event of football after the FIFA World Cup and UEFA Euro competitions. Copa America is the South American Football Championship which is also the oldest football competition started their journey on 1916 which was 103 years ago. It is a South American football competition where teams from CONMEBOL used to take part. Generally, total twelve teams used to take part in every season but sometimes, it expanded to sixteen so far. Therefore, here we are talking about the Copa America past winners list and there since the beginning of the competition to till now, the list of winners along with runners-up list will be added.

Copa America Past Winners List Year By Year CapTable

2016 Alexis Sanchez Chile Copa America

Let’s take a glance below where we present the Copa America past winners list with host nations completely.

Copa America Past Winners List

Episode Host Nation Runner Up Year Winner
1st Argentina Argentina 1916 Uruguay
2nd Uruguay Argentina 1917 Uruguay
3rd Brazil Uruguay 1919 Brazil
4th Chile Argentina 1920 Uruguay
5th Argentina Brazil 1921 Argentina
6th Brazil Paraguay 1922 Brazil
7th Uruguay Argentina 1923 Uruguay
8th Uruguay Argentina 1924 Uruguay
9th Argentina Brazil 1925 Argentina
10th Chile Argentina 1926 Uruguay
11th Peru Uruguay 1927 Argentina
12th Argentina Paraguay 1929 Argentina
13th Peru Argentina 1935 Uruguay
14th Argentina Brazil 1937 Argentina
15th Peru Uruguay 1939 Paraguay
16th Chile Uruguay 1941 Argentina
17th Uruguay Argentina 1942 Uruguay
18th Chile Brazil 1945 Argentina
19th Argentina Brazil 1946 Argentina
20th Ecuador Paraguay 1947 Argentina
21st Brazil Paraguay 1949 Brazil
22nd Peru Brazil 1953 Paraguay
23rd Chile Chile 1955 Argentina
24th Uruguay Chile 1956 Uruguay
25th Peru Brazil 1957 Argentina
26th Argentina Brazil 1959 Argentina
27th Ecuador Argentina 1959 Uruguay
28th Bolivia Paraguay 1963 Bolivia
29th Uruguay Argentina 1967 Uruguay
30th Various Colombia 1975 Peru
31st Various Chile 1979 Paraguay
32nd Various Brazil 1983 Uruguay
33rd Argentina Chile 1987 Uruguay
34th Brazil Uruguay 1989 Brazil
35th Chile Brazil 1991 Argentina
36th Ecuador Mexico 1993 Argentina
37th Uruguay Brazil 1995 Uruguay
38th Bolivia Bolivia 1997 Brazil
39th Paraguay Uruguay 1999 Brazil
40th Colombia Mexico 2001 Colombia
41st Peru Argentina 2004 Brazil
42nd Venezuela Argentina 2007 Brazil
43rd Argentina Paraguay 2011 Uruguay
44th Chile Argentina 2015 Chile
45th United States Argentina 2016 Chile

Read More: Copa America Schedule 2019

According to the above-listed data, we can see that already 45th seasons of Copa America have passed successfully. And the most successful team in the competition is Uruguay considering the highest number of title winners. They won the highest 15th times Copa America titles and Argentina is on the 2nd position with 14th titles. Argentina could go on the first position but in last two times, they ended the tournament standing on the runner up against the same opponent Chile. They faced the same types of defeat both times which were the penalty shoot out.

The inaugural season of Copa America took place in 1916 and the host nation was Argentina. Uruguay was the inaugural champion of the tournament and they beat Argentina in the final where team Brazil stood on the 3rd position and Chile was standing on the 4th position so far.

Now, we are going to present the performance by the country in the tournament of Copa America. Let’s see the details below.

Performance by Nations

Position Nation Winning Years Runner-Up Years
1st Uruguay 15 Times (1916, 1917, 1920, 1923, 1924, 1926, 1935, 1942, 1956, 1959 (Ecuador), 1967, 1983, 1987, 1995 *, 2011) 6 Times (1919, 1927, 1939, 1941, 1989, 1999)
2nd Argentina 14 Times (1921, 1925, 1927, 1929, 1937, 1941, 1945, 1946 , 1947, 1955, 1957, 1959 (Argentina), 1991, 1993) 14 Times (1916, 1917, 1920, 1923, 1924, 1926, 1935, 1942, 1959 (Ecuador), 1967, 2004, 2007, 2015, 2016)
3rd Brazil 8 Times (1919, 1922, 1949, 1989, 1997, 1999, 2004, 2007) 11 Times (1921, 1925, 1937, 1945, 1946, 1953, 1957, 1959 (Argentina), 1983, 1991, 1995)
4th Paraguay 2 Times (1953, 1979) 6 Times (1922, 1929, 1947, 1949, 1963, 2011)
5th Chile 2 Times (2015, 2016) 4 Times (1955, 1956, 1979, 1987)
6th Peru 2 Times (1939, 1975)
7th Colombia 1 Time (2001) 1 Time (1975)
8th Bolivia 1 Time (1963) 1 Time (1997)
9th Mexico 2 Times (1993, 2001)

According to the above-listed details, we can see that Uruguay won the highest 15th titles of Copa America but Argentina played the highest 28th finals and so, we can consider them as the most successful team as well. Team Argentina won 14th CA titles along with 14th times runner-up. Brazil is standing on the 3rd position with 8 titles so far.

So, according to the presented data, we can clear one thing about the Copa America past winners list. Now, the time has come for a new champion and this time it would be very competitive no doubt.

Leave a Reply

  • (not be published)