ICC World Twenty20 Past Winners and Runners Up of All Seasons

Posted on March 06, 2019, 5:11 pm
4 mins

The very first tournament of ICC World T20 executed in 2007 and the last tournament was staged in 2016. In the meantime, total six seasons of ICC World T20 Cup passed away and total five teams took the titles of the biggest cricket competition. The defending champion of the tournament is West Indies and also they are the most successful team by winning two titles of ICC World T20 highest. Today we would like to talk about ICC World Twenty20 Past Winners and let’s see the full details below chart.

ICC World Twenty20 Past Winners West Indies vs England Final 2016ICC World T20 Cup is also known as World T20 which is the 20 International cricket competition organized by International Cricket Council or ICC. The tournament consists of sixteen teams where the ICC full members and four associate members are chosen for the competition through the World T20 qualifier round. Though at the beginning in 2007, total twelve teams took part here but since 2014, now total sixteen teams are taking part here.

ICC World Twenty20 Past Winners

S/L Year Host Winner Runner-Up Venue
1. 2007 South Africa India Pakistan Johannesburg
2. 2009 England Pakistan Sri Lanka London
3. 2010 West Indies England Australia Bridgetown
4. 2012 Sri Lanka West Indies Sri Lanka Colombo
5. 2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka India Dhaka
6. 2016 India West Indies England Kolkata

Read More: ICC World Twenty20 Top Run Scorer

India vs Pakistan (Final 2007)

Ind vs Pak Final 2007In 2007 the very first edition of ICC World Twenty20 executed and this time South Africa hosted the tournament. Total twelve teams took part there and finally, New Zealand, Pakistan, India, and Australia played semi-finals. India and Pakistan made it to the final and in there, team India won by five runs against Pakistan. So, the very first edition was won by team India.

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka (Final 2009)

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka Final 2009In 2009, he 2ndd episode of the tournament took place and this time England hosted the tournament. This time once again, twelve teams took part and from them, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and West Indies reached the semi-final. Sri Lanka and Pakistan played the final where Pakistan won the match by eight wickets. This time, they did not make any mistake.

England vs Australia (Final 2010)

Just following next year in 2010, the 3rd season of ICC World T20 Cup took place and West Indies hosted the tournament. England and Australia played the final in the tournament and England beat Australia by seven wickets.

West Indies vs Sri Lanka (Final 2012)

West Indies vs Sri Lanka Final 2012The 4th episode took place in 2012 at Sri Lanka and fortunately Sri Lanka played the final against West Indies this time. West Indies won the match by 36 runs so far.

Sri Lanka vs India (Final 2014)

Sri Lanka vs India Final 2014In 2014, the 5th episode of ICC World T20Cup took place in Bangladesh. In the tournament, two Asian teams Sri Lanka and India played the final. Sri Lanka got their first title this time. They defeated India by six wickets so far.

West Indies vs England (Final 2016)

ICC World Twenty20 Past Winners West Indies vs England Final 2016And the sixth and last season of ICC World T20 Cup hosted in 2016 at India. England and West Indies played the final where West Indies got the 2nd title by defeating England by four wickets so far.

Since the beginning of the journey of ICC World T20, it used to take place once in every two years but the last season of the tournament executed in 2016 and after four years the upcoming tournament will take place. According to ICC, they wanted to execute another episode in 2018 at South Africa but due to 2017 ICC Champions Trophy, the tournament has delayed and now, it will take place according to the original schedule in 2020 at Australia.

Leave a Reply

  • (not be published)