BBL Past Winners and Runners Up of All Seasons

Posted on January 01, 2019, 1:21 am
4 mins

Big Bash League which is also known as KFC Big Bash League is one of the most popular T20 league cricket competition based on Australia which was founded in 2011. Considering the BBL past winners, total five teams tested the glory of Big Bash League title. Perth Scorchers is the most successful team in Big Bash League competition having won BBL title highest three times so far.

BBL History BBL Past Winners and Runners Up of All SeasonsThe defending champion which means the last season of BBL which executed in 2017/18 was won by Adelaide Strikers which was their first title. Today we would like to talk about the BBL or Big Bash League past winners details. Let’s see them below.

BBL Past Winners

 Season Final Host Winner Runner-Up Venue
2011 – 12 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers WACA Ground
2012 – 13 Perth Scorchers Brisbane Heat Perth Scorchers WACA Ground
2013 – 14 Perth Scorchers Perth Scorchers Hobart Hurricanes WACA Ground
2014 – 15 Canberra Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers Manuka Oval
2015 – 16 Melbourne Stars Sydney Thunder Melbourne Stars MCG
2016 – 17 Perth Scorchers Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers WACA Ground
2017 – 18 Adelaide Strikers Adelaide Strikers Hobart Hurricanes Adelaide Oval

Scorchers vs Sydney Sixers(2011/12)

The very first season of BBL took place in 2011/12 and then the final match took place at the home venue of Perth Scorchers.

The ground was WACA Ground. In the final, Perth Scorchers faced Sydney Sixers.

Sixers scored 158 runs where came to chase, Scorchers could not meet the target but for 2 runs, they faced defeat. The very first BBL title was won by Sydney Sixers.

Brisbane Heat vs Scorchers (2012/13)

In the 2nd season of BBL took place in the following next year where total eight teams took part. Brisbane Heat and Perth Scorchers reached the final once again.

Like the first time, once again Perth Scorchers faced unfortunate defeat in the final.

Heat won the toss and decided to bat first. They scored 167 runs in selected 20 overs but Perth Scorchers failed to chase the score one more time. They scored 133 runs in 20 overs. So, Brisbane Heat won the 22nd title of BBL by 34 runs so far.

Scorchers vs Hurricanes (2013/14)

Perth Scorchers failed to win first two titles though they played finals in both times. In 3rd time, they once again reached the final and did not make any mistake.

They faced Hobart Hurricanes but they set a big score in front of them and so, Hurricanes were not capable to chase the score. So, the 3rd season of BBL was won by Perth Scorchers by 39 runs so far.

Scorchers vs Sydney Sixers (2014/15)

Perth Scorchers won the 4th season of Big Bash League title as well. It seems that they dominated the BBL tournament at that time.

They played final against Sydney Sixers in 2014/15 where Scorchers won by 4 wickets.

Melbourne Stars vs Thunder (2015/16)

In the 5th season of BBL, Melbourne Stars played final against Sydney Thunder but failed to win against Thunder. The team of Sydney won by 3 wickets so far.

Scorchers vs Sydney Sixers(2016/17)

The 6th season of BBL, Scorchers once against came to play the final and this time their opponent was Sydney Sixers.

The match was so contesting but finally, Scorchers won their 3rd BBL title against Sixers.

Scorchers vs Hurricanes (2017/18)

The last season of BBL took place in 2017/18 where Hobart Hurricanes played final with Adelaide Strikers. Strikers won the match by 25 runs so far.

Total six teams took part here but after the competition was changed to BBL, total eight franchise teams used to participate here since 2011.  It is organized by Cricket Australia (CA). It was replaced the previous competition named KFC Twenty20 Big Bash.

Leave a Reply

  • (not be published)