BBL Leading Run Scorers 2018-19 & Most Runs in T20

Posted on January 17, 2019, 3:43 pm
4 mins

BBL which is officially known as Big Bash League or due to sponsorship reason, it is also known as KFC Big Bash League. The tournament is the top league competition in Australia where Cricket Australia organized the tournament. It was officially founded in 2011 though earlier it was known by another name. Back then total six teams took part here but since 2011 when it was officially started the journey under CA, eight franchise teams were nominated to take part in the tournament. But now, we are talking about BBL leading run scorers so far in 2018/19.

BBL Leading Run Scorers & Most Runs Averages in T20 FormatBBL Leading Run Scorers 2018-19

DJM ShortHobart Hurricanes7735596*0/431/15
CA LynnBrisbane Heat77313840/322/17
AJ TurnerPerth Scorchers8830060*0/221/9
JC ButtlerSydney Thunder77273890/326/10
MS WadeHobart Hurricanes77231850/219/6
CA IngramAdelaide Striker88225750/216/11
DP HughesSydney Sixers99224620/224/4
J WeatheraldAdelaide Strikers88222710/224/7
SB HarperMelbourne Ren9922056*0/126/6
JC SilkSydney Sixers9921967*0/19/3
BB McCullumBrisbane Heat77205690/313/10

Read More: BBL Highest Wickets & Most Wicket Taker In 2018-19 

The new season which will be the 8th version of Big Bash League will start at the end of December this year as usual and before that, we cannot learn about the most run scorers so far in 2018/19. But, we can check the most run scorers in 2017/18 season.

According to the below-listed table, we can see that D’Arcy Short was the top scorer in last season of BBL. He played for Hobart Hurricanes where he made 11 matches as well as 11 innings and scored 572 runs. His highest score was 122 and remained not out.

Read More: Big Bash League Past Winners and Runners up History

He made a century and four fifties there. Let’s see the details below.

Most Run Scorers in 2017/18

S/L Name Team Nation Match Inns Runs H.S 100/50
1st D’Arcy Short Hobart Hurricanes Aus 11 11 572 122* 1/4
2nd Alex Carey Adelaide Strikers Aus 11 11 443 100 1/2
3rd Jake Weatherald Adelaide Strikers Aus 12 12 383 115 1/3
4th Travis Head Adelaide Strikers Aus 9 9 374 85 0/3
5th Shane Watson Sydney Thunders Aus 10 10 331 77 0/2

Alex Carey who is an Australia professional cricket team player and played for Adelaide Strikers. he made 11 matches as well as 11 innings and scored 443 runs so far. His highest score in the tournament was 100. He made a century and two fifties out there. Jake Weatherald who played for Adelaide Strikers and his team won the last title of BBL.

He played12 matches in the tournament and scored 383 runs totally. He scored 115 runs highest and along with that, he made three fifties there so far. Among the top five players list of most run scorers, there were three players of Adelaide Strikers placed there. Travis Head was in 4th position and Shane Watson was in the 5th position as the most run scorers so far in BBL 2017/18.

Since the beginning, a total of seven episodes of the tournament Big Bash League have completed successfully and we are aware that at the Australian grounds are quite compatible with batsmen. Usually, teams got more run here than other countries grounds. So, in every season of Big Bash League competition, players who are taking part here scored good runs.

Though in BBL competition players from different cricket playing nations used to take part, most Aussie players are generally taking part here. So, they used to make big shots in their familiar grounds so far.